4.3 Shared Calendar and preferences

The user can set up several fields from the calendar settings icon (accessible also from User Preferences):

Default Calendar View

Defines the default calendar view (daily, weekly, etc.)

Date Format

The user selects the date format

Reminder Interval

Frequency for activities reminders check by means of pop-ups

Day starts at

Defines the starting time of the working day (this will be the first time available in the calendar to fix events)

Disable Sunday in week view

Allows you to disable the display of Sunday, when the calendar is set as a "Week" view

First day of week

You can choose whether the week starts on Monday or Sunday

Share calendar with

Allows you to choose which users to share your calendar with

Share calendar with (only occupation)

Allows you to choose which users to share the calendar of the user you are configuring with, assuming that it is, for example, an object such as a company car or a meeting room

Show calendar users

Allows you to activate the calendar display of all those users who, in the "Share Calendar with" option, have decided to select our user (or the current user for whom the configuration is being made)

Holiday Countries

Makes it possible to display national holidays on the calendar for the selected Country (European countries)

user_calendar_settings.png

If the admin user has set the calendar as public, all users can share their agenda with the other users, thus allowing total or partial visibility depending on user privileges (for details of privileges refer to the next section). If shared, the agendas of other users appear in the right-hand column of the calendar, each shown in its own automatically assigned colour.

Calendar-VTENEXT-20-04.png

Example: Agent 1 and Agent 2 users need to share their agendas. From Calendar preferences, “Share Calendar with” section, Agent 1 must select the Agent 2 user:

Now Agent 2 accesses his/her own preferences and enables Agent 1 in the “Show User Calendar” section:

Agent 2 can now see the calendar and assign activities to Agent 1. Agent 2 in turn can use the same procedure to share its calendar with Agent 1 and allow Agent 1 to view the contents and assign activities.

In addition, two new functions, which will be described below, have been added to the calendar as from vtenext version 19.10.

Sharing with occupation (from version 19.10)
An additional block for sharing has been added to the user page:

Share-calendar-only-occupation-VTENEXT-21-01.png

Users with this type of sharing option will be able to view exclusively the occupation and not the content of the events, as though they were all personal, with the exception of Public events, which are always visible to all:

calendar_single_day.png

Organiser Field (from version 19.10)

In event creation, this field assumes the value of the assignee, however it may occur that external plugins set it to different values. It may contain a vte user, a contact or a free email address.

There are 2 operational changes:
• If a user is invited to an event assigned to others, and the organiser coincides with himself/herself*, then the event in question is as though it had been assigned to himself/herself, with all the required privileges (edit/delete).
• If a user is invited to an event (its own event or a third party event), and the organiser does not coincide*, this user can only view the record and cannot edit/delete it, irrespective of the hierarchy of roles (in the case of an event assigned to himself/herself but not editable, this function is used to manage invitations from users external to the system)

* the match between organiser and current user is:
if the organiser is a user, a check is performed to ensure the user is the same
if the organiser is a contact, a check is performed to establish whether the contact email is the same as the user's email
if it is a free address, a check is performed to establish whether this email address is the same as the user’s email

N.B.: In the case of events with contact or email organiser, the prohibition of changing the record can be easily overcome by changing the contact or entering your own email address, or yourself, once again changing the email address.

Reminder Interval
If you have set a reminder interval in preferences (1 minute minimum), you can set it up so that the CRM generates an alert whenever an event or task is about to occur. The pop-up screen offers several functions:

  • Close Activity: to close an activity directly without necessarily entering from the calendar module
  • Open: to open the event/task of the specific calendar
  • Dismiss: to instruct the CRM to no longer generate alerts for a specific event/task
  • Dismiss All: snooze function that makes it possible to set alerts, again via pop-up, based on the previously defined time interval
  • Snooze All: to instruct the CRM to stop reminding us of the events/tasks present in this specific pop-up
Back to top